Silver Plume Nominees Chosen for the 2014 Hotel Excellence Awards

September 10, 2014 (New York, NY): On Monday, January 26, 2015, Where® IN New York, a division of Morris Media Network, a multi-media publishing company--in cooperation with the New York City Association of Hotel Concierges (NYCAHC) and the Hotel Association of New York City,  Inc.--will host the 2014 Hotel Excellence Awards (HEA) at the iconic Cipriani Wall Street. The HEA program recognizes the qualities and characteristics that demonstrate superior service and achievement in New York City's hospitality industry. The program is comprised of the Hotel Experience Awards, selected by the readers of Where® New York and IN New York magazines; and the Silver Plume Awards, which honor exemplary customer service of concierges and their managers, and is voted upon by the New York City Association of Hotel Concierges' members and their managers. A committee of NYCAHC concierges chose the below nominees, including:

Chef Concierge of the Year
Carlos Freire: Trump International Hotel & Tower® New York
Peter Johnson: The Kimberly Hotel
Beatriz McGowan: Omni Berkshire Place
Anya Orlanska: The Benjamin
Raphael Pallais: The Plaza Hotel

Concierge of the Year
Lek Kidkarndee: Waldorf Astoria New York
James Lamboglia: The Plaza Hotel
Kathleen Nugent-Harris: Loews Regency Hotel
Polina Roze: New York Marriott Marquis Times Square
Bogna Strzelczyk-Flynn: The Westin New York Grand Central

Best Supporting Manager
David Chase: The New York Palace
Patrick Horstmann: W New York - Downtown
Andrew Labetti: Omni Berkshire Place
Kate Martin: Hotel Chandler
Mujo Perezic: The Kimberly Hotel

Hotel Excellence Award for Community Service
David Almada, Senior Concierge, W New York
Maurice Dancer, Chef Concierge, The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Michael Romei, Chef Concierge, The Waldorf Towers

"As an honorary concierge of NYCAHC, I've had the privilege to witness firsthand the hard work and support these dedicated individuals provide to New York City's tourism industry," says Adeline Tafuri Jurecka, Senior Vice President Marketing & Strategic Partnerships, Where® IN New York. "They are the true key holders to the city and we are thrilled by this year's nominees. We are also excited to honor Mike Gallagher, co-chairman and co-founder of City Pass, with the HEA Lifetime Achievement Award, as his contributions to this great city are also unequivocal."

A silent auction--containing hundreds of luxury items--will be held to benefit, the Les Clefs d'Or Foundation, the New York City Association of Hotel Concierges' Charitable Fund, the Hotel Association of New York City Scholarship Fund, and Big Apple Greeter.

About Where® IN New York:
Where® IN New York is a division of Morris Media Network. Where® IN New York's market-leading visitor publications include Where GuestBook® New York, Where® New York and IN New York magazines and Where® IN New York Map. Reaching every segment of the visitor market--from leisure and family to business and luxury travel--Where® IN New York products appear at 375 of New York's most distinguished hotels, and in upscale corporate housing, private clubs, airports, residential buildings, Amtrak trains and Acela VIP lounges, generating an annual readership in excess of 32 million. For more information, log on to

Mackenzie Allison, Where® IN New York Marketing Editor